Rewriting History – webinar (Feb. 1, 2021)

Invitation

Rewriting History
Geschichtspolitik in the 21st Century

A discussion panel – webinar

February 1, 2021
1 PM in New York, 6 PM in London, 19h00 in Paris, 20:00 in Tel Aviv

Facebook event – click here

Presentation

The history of the Second World War and of the Holocaust were distorted many times and served as a propaganda tool during the Cold War. Yet the manner it is used in the time of peace is new and complex. Geschichtspolitik, history politics – is now being used in different manners by numerous countries, like Russia, Hungary, Poland, Lithuania, Slovakia, and Israel. 

While stressing the great impact those events had not only on the past but also on the present and future, this Geschichtspolitik raises many questions: How do the tension of academic writing, national perceptions, and public discourse rewrite history? Could battles of victimhood shape the past? What impact do charged encounter of various national discourses have? And what is the role of intellectuals in this debate? 

Speakers

Prof. Havi Dreifuss, Head of the The Institute for the History of Polish Jewry and Israel-Poland Relations at Tel Aviv University and Head of the Center for Research on the Holocaust in Poland, the Yad Vashem International Institute of Holocaust Research.

Dr. Evgeni Klauber, Historian, lecturer at Tel Aviv University, expert in Russia and the post-Soviet world.

Dr. Robert Rozett, Senior Historian in the International Institute for Holocaust Research, Yad Vashem, former Director of the Libraries at Yad Vashem.

Prof. Dariusz Stola,  Historian, Professor at the Institute for Political Studies, Polish Academy of Sciences, former Head of the POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews in Warsaw, Poland.

The event will be co-chaired by 

Prof. Amos Morris-Reich, Historian, Director of The Stephen Roth Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism and Racism at Tel Aviv University, Researcher at the The Cohn Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Ideas

Dr. Anna C. Zielinska, Philosopher, lecturer at the University of Lorraine in Nancy, France and at the Sciences Po Paris; executive director of the European Association of POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews.

Organization

  • The Institute for the History of Polish Jewry and Israel-Poland Relations at the Tel Aviv University
  • University of Lorraine (Nancy, France)
  • The European Association of POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews (Paris/Tel Aviv)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s